Vinland Saga Season 2 Gets “Episode 6.5” Short

©幸村誠・講談社/ヴィンランド・サガ製作委員会 ©幸村誠・講談社/ヴィンランド・サガ SEASON 2 製作委員会

The MAPPA CHANNEL has released a two-and-a-half-minute video for Vinland Saga Season 2 that is dubbed as “Episode 6.5” of the show.

The short, titled “Drowning in the Shadow,” shows a pre-slave Thorfinn slaughtering a group of men defending their home during a raid. A comment from Vinland Saga creator Makoto Yukimura said of the video, “Thorfinn just before he makes a fresh start in his life. Shows how he tries to change from the inside by just images without any lines. It is amazing. It seems like he is no longer a child that has gone wild.”

Vinland Saga Season 2 premiered on January 9. Netflix and Crunchyroll are streaming the show outside of Japan. The first season of Vinland Saga aired in 2019. 

Yukimura’s Kodansha-published manga began in 2005 and has 26 tankoubon volumes as of May 2022. The series is currently serialized in Monthly Afternoon magazine. Kodansha USA describes the manga as:

As a child, Thorfinn sat at the feet of the great Leif Ericson and thrilled to wild tales of a land far to the west. But his youthful fantasies were shattered by a mercenary raid. Raised by the Vikings who murdered his family, Thorfinn became a terrifying warrior, forever seeking to kill the band’s leader, Askeladd, and avenge his father. Sustaining Throfinn through his ordeal are his pride in his family and his dreams of a fertile westward land, a land without war or slavery … the land Leif called Vinland. 

The returning staff for Vinland Saga Season 2 includes Shuhei Yabuta as director, Hiroshi Seko as series composer, Abiru Takahiko as character designer, Yusuke Takeda as art director, Yuki Kawashita as photography director, Satoshi Hashimoto as color designer, and Yutaka Yamada as music composer. 

Season 1 art board artists Kentaro Ohnuki and Izumi Hirabayashi are serving as co-art directors with Takeda for the new season, while Minori Nishita is serving as color designer with Hashimoto. Kawashita is joined by Hisashi Matsumuko (Uzaki-chan Wants to Hang Out!) for photography directorial duties. Meanwhile, Kouhei Ogawa (Healer Girl 3D director) is taking over the 3DCG director role from Mayu Takehana. MAPPA is producing instead of WIT Studio this time.

New cast members include Shunsuke Takeuchi as Einar, Mayumi Sako as Arnheid, Yuu Hayashi as Olmar, Taiten Kusunoki as Thorgil, Hideaki Tezuka as Ketil, and Mugihito as Sverkel. Some of the returning cast include Yuuto Uemura as Thorfinn and Kenshou Ono as Canute.


Anime Trending News Writer who writes about all sorts of things, including upcoming anime series and movies, anime-related video games, animated music videos, manga and light novels, VTubers, and anime collaborations. Once in a while, he'll put out a review too. Every anime season, Melvyn looks forward to discovering new standout episodes and OP/ED animation sequences. Some of his free time is spent self-learning Japanese.
Leave a Comment!


Leave a Reply