Mayoi Hachikuji Reintroduces Herself in New Monogatari Series: Off & Monster Season Character PV Trailer

© 西尾維新/​講談社・​アニプレックス・​シャフト

A new character PV trailer has been released for the upcoming Monogatari Series: Off & Monster Season anime series, which features the young ghost girl Mayoi Hachikuji. The first episode is expected to premiere in a 50-minute time slot, and will stream weekly in Japan on ABEMA starting on July 6, 2024. 

Akiyuki Shinbo returns as chief director for the anime, with Midori Yoshizawa (Magia Record: Puella Magi Madoka Magica Side Story Season 2 assistant director) as director, Akio Watanabe (returning) as character designer, Fuyashi To (returning) and Shinbo as series screenwriter, Hisaharu Iijima (returning) as art director, Yasuko Watanabe (Zoku Owarimonogatari) as color designer, Hiyori Hashimoto (Magia Record: Puella Magi Madoka Magica Side Story, RWBY Ice Queendom assistant compositing director) and Mizuho Ishikawa (Zom 100 compositing staff) as compositing directors. Shaft is in charge of the animation production. 

Meanwhile, the main voice cast for Monogatari Off and Monster Season includes: 

  • • Hiroshi Kamiya as Koyomi Araragi
  • • Emiri Kato as Mayoi Hachikuji
  • • Kana Hanazawa as Nadeko Sengoku
  • • Saori Hayami as Yotsugi Ononoki
  • • Yuka Iguchi as Tsukihi Araragi
  • • Chiwa Saito as Hitagi Senjougahara
  • • Kaori Mizuhashi as Ougi Oshino
  • • Maaya Sakamoto as Shinobu Oshino
  • • Marina Inoue as Sodachi Oikura
  • • Miyuki Sawashiro as Suruga Kanbaru

Monogatari Off and Monster Season is the first new entry in the Monogatari Series since 2019’s Zoku Owarimonogatari, excluding the Kizumonogatari: Koyomi Vamp compilation film from January 2024. 

The series began with Bakemonogatari in 2009, which was directed by Tatsuya Oishi, who also directed 2016 to 2017’s Kizumonogatari movie trilogy. The other previous Monogatari anime were directed by Tomoyuki Itamura (Call of the Night, The Case Study of Vanitas).

The long-running anime is based on the light novel series written by Nisio Isin and illustrated by Vofan. The Off-Season books contain several entries that include Orokamonogatari, Wazamonogatari, Nademonogatari, and Musubimonogatari, which were all released from 2015 to 2017. 

monotari off season and monster season key visual two
© 西尾維新/​講談社・​アニプレックス・​シャフト

Meanwhile, the Monster Season titles include Shinobumonogatari, Yoimonogatari, Amarimonogatari, Ougimonogatari, and Shimonogatari Parts 1 and 2, which were released between 2017 to 2021. The Monogatari book series began with the release of Bakemonogatari Part 1 and 2 in 2006. 

Kodansha USA releases the novel series in English, describing Bakemonogatari Part 1 as:

There’s a girl at their school who is always ill. She routinely arrives late, leaves early, or doesn’t show up at all, and skips gym as a matter of course. She’s pretty, and the boys take to whispering that ’s a cloistered princess. As the self-described worst loser in her class soon finds out, they just don’t know what a monster she is.

So begins a tale of mysterious maladies that are supernatural in origin yet deeply revealing of the human psyche, a set of case files as given to unexpected feeling as it is to irreverent humor.

Source: Nisio Isin Official Twitter

William Moo is a freelance writer who has previously written for OTAQUEST and MANGA.TOKYO. He enjoys watching lots of anime every season and reading from time to time. You can follow him on Twitter @thewriterSITB.
Leave a Comment!