Viz Media Announces Summer 2023 Releases At NYCC 2022

demon slayer coloring book feature image
© KG/​S, A, U

At its industry panel at New York Comic Con 2022, Viz Media announced their slate of its upcoming Summer 2023 releases. The publisher will be releasing 20 total books next summer, with 17 being physical releases while three are digital exclusives. 

Viz previously released its upcoming Spring 2023 releases this past June. 

Here are some details about their upcoming releases for Summer 2023: 

Chainsaw Man: Buddy Stories is a light novel series based on the manga of the same name. The original concept is credited to Tatsuki Fujimoto while the story is written by Sakaku Hishikawa. Buddy Stories delivers four new stories featuring characters from Fujimoto’s manga. It was originally released in Japan on November 4, 2021. 

Poppy Pesuyama’s Until I Love Myself: The Journey of a Nonbinary Manga Artist autobiographical manga spotlights issues of gender dysphoria and sexual harassment. It was published in the Yawaraka Spirits webcomic website from August 27, 2020 to June 10, 2021. Two tankoubon volumes have been released in total. 

Heart Gear is a post-apocalyptic science fiction manga by Tsuyoshi Takaki that first ran in Shueisha’s Shonen Jump+ online magazine on April 3, 2019. The series is published under the Jump Comics+ imprint and has released four tankoubon volumes as of August 2022. The manga was also on a short hiatus from May 2020 to August 2022. 

Marvel Comics: A Manga Tribute is a special collection of Marvel Comics artwork from numerous Japanese manga artists. Some of the more notable creators that have contributed include Yuusuke Murata (One Punch Man), Studio Trigger designer Shigeto Koyama (Promare, Kill La Kill, Gurren Lagann),Q Hayashida (Dorohedoro), Yoshida Amano (Final Fantasy), Kamome Shirahama (Witch Hat Atelier), and many more! 

A new deluxe version of Wolverine: Snikt!, created by Tsutomu Nihei (BLAME!, Knights of Sidonia), will also be released. The monthly limited series follows Wolverine, who has been transported to a desolate new dimension. It was published under Marvel’s short-lived Tsunami imprint from July to November 2003. Five total issues have been printed and have previously been collected as a trade paperback titled Wolverine Legends Volume 5

One of legendary horror manga artist Kazuo Umezz’s iconic titles, Cat-Eyed Boy, will be getting a deluxe hardcover edition very soon. Titled Cat-Eyed Boy: The Perfect Edition, the manga will feature stories centered around the grotesque and the absurd. 

The series has gone through several publishers over its publication run from 1967 to 1976, such as Shounen Gahousha, Shogakukan, and Asahi Sonorama. It ran in Shounen Gaho from 1967 to 1968, then Shounen King from 1968 to 1969, and Weekly Shounen Sunday in 1976. It also inspired a 22-episode 1976 television anime series and 2006 live-action film. 

Kenichi Kondou’s Dark Gathering supernatural manga series features a hapless student and ghost-hunting girl to capture the most sinister spirits around. The series was first launched in Shueisha’s Jump Square magazine, under the Jump Comics SQ imprint, on March 4, 2019. Nine tankoubon volumes have been released as of March 2022. 

The manga is also inspiring an upcoming television anime series that will premiere in 2023, with OLM handling the animation production and Hiroshi Ikehata (Tonikawa: Over the Moon for You) as director.  

The Wolf Girl and Black Prince romantic comedy manga series is written and illustrated by Ayuko Hatta. It ran in Shuiesha’s Bessatsu Margaret shoujo magazine from October 25, 2011 to May 13, 2016. 16 tankoubon volumes have been released in total. 

The manga was also adapted into a 12 episode anime television series in 2014, an OVA, and a 2016 live-action film. Sentai Filmworks licensed the anime for English-speaking countries and territories. 

Inspired by the Netflix anime series and Kousuke Oono’s manga series, The Way of the Househusband: The Gangster’s Guide to Housekeeping is a great companion book for anyone looking to refine their housekeeping and cooking skills. The book is written by Laurie Ulster and features original recipes by Victoria Rosenthal that were inspired by the series.

Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba: The Official Coloring Book 2 is the second coloring book from the hit manga series to be released by Viz Media. It will feature seventy new illustrations by creator Koyoharu Gotouge that will let you color your favorite characters from the anime series. 

Like a Butterfly is a romance manga series by suu Morishita that explores the relationship between two high schoolers. It ran in Shueisha’s Margaret shoujo magazine from February 20, 2012 to June 5, 2015. 12 tankoubon volumes have been released in total. 

The manga was also adapted into an audio drama, starring Kana Hanazawa and Ryouta Oosaka

Yuusuke Oosawa’s Spider-Man: Fake Red is a manga series inspired by Marvel’s Spider-Man comics. It follows an awkward teenager who stumbles upon the famous web slinger’s suit in an alley. It was serialized in Magazine pocket on July 26, 2019 before being discontinued on March 6, 2020. A single tankoubon volume has been collected and released. 

Akane-banashi follows a young girl who has vowed to avenge her father in the tough world of rakugo. It is written by Yuki Suenaga and illustrated by Takamasa Moue. It was first serialized in Shueisha’s Weekly Shonen Jump magazine on February 14, 2022 and published under the Jump Comics imprint. Three tankoubon volumes have been released in total as of October 2022. 

Legendary horror manga artist Junji Ito will also be releasing a new collection of 10 short stories, featuring one of his most unique characters, Souichi. 

Ufotable and Koyoharu Gotouge are collaborating to release The Art of Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba the Anime artbook. It collects over 300 pieces of art from the hit anime series. 

Tatsuki Fujimoto’s one-shot manga Goodbye, Eri will also be released for the first time in print. The manga from the Chainsaw Man creator was first released in Shuiesha’s Shonen Jump+ online magazine on April 11, 2022. It was also released on the Manga Plus online app and website

The action-comedy manga Candy Flurry will be released as a VIZ Digital Exclusive. The story is written by Ippon Takegushi and illustrated by Santa Mitarashi. It ran in Shueisha’s Weekly Shonen Jump magazine from April 19, 2021 to September 13, 2021. Three tankoubon volumes have been released in total. 

Another VIZ Digital Exclusive title is Minya Hiraga’s Neru: Way of the Martial Artist, which follows a chance encounter between a high school girl and an eccentric martial artist. The series was serialized in Weekly Shonen Jump from July 5, 2021 to November 15, 2021. 

PPPPPP is a musical manga series by Mapollo 3 that will also be released as a Viz Digital Exclusive. The series was first launched in Weekly Shonen Jump magazine on September 17, 2021 and is published under the Jump Comics imprint. Four tankoubon volumes have been released as of September 2022.  

Disney Mirrorverse: Belle is a prequel manga set in the universe of the hit mobile game of the same name. The story is written by Alex Singer and is illustrated by Jan Apple. The manga is a dark take on Disney’s iconic Beauty and the Beast animated feature.  

Source: Viz Media

William Moo is a freelance writer who has previously written for OTAQUEST and MANGA.TOKYO. He enjoys watching lots of anime every season and reading from time to time. You can follow him on Twitter @thewriterSITB.
Leave a Comment!

Leave a Reply