Seven Seas Entertainment Announces New Licenses At Anime Expo 2022

classroom of the elite horikita volume one feature image
© Shougo Kinugasa / Sakagaki

Seven Seas Entertainment has announced several new light novel and manga licenses at its Anime Expo 2022 industry panel. Among the highlighted titles readers can expect from the publisher include Classroom of the Elite: Horikita, To Every You I’ve Loved Before, Do Not Say Mystery, and a collector’s edition of Marmalade Boy. 

12 new series have been licensed by the manga publisher overall. Concrete release dates for each title will be made available at a later date. Here are the full details: 

The publisher will release the light novel series Raven of the Inner Palace (Koukyuu no Karasu in Japanese), written by Kouko Shirakawa with illustrations by Ayuko. The series was first published on April 20, 2018 under the Shueisha Orange Bunko imprint. Seven physical volumes have been released as of July 13, 2022. 

An anime television series from Bandai Namco Pictures will premiere this coming October 2022.  

Neko Iwatobi’s The Invisible Man and His Soon-To-Be Wife manga series about an invisible detective and his blind wife has also been licensed. The series originated as a webcomic on the creator’s Twitter and pixiv accounts from February 28, 2021 to November 5, 2021. Futabasha published a single tankoubon volume of the series on November 28, 2021, collecting 11 chapters in total. 

Seven Seas will release the manga adaptation of Rise of the Outlaw Tamer and His Wild S-Rank Cat Girl, written by SkyFarm and illustrated by Jouji Manabe, based on the original light novel artwork by Nekosuke Ookuma. The manga was first serialized in Comic Ride Advance magazine on April 12, 2021. Two tankoubon volumes have been published in total so far. 

Ao Koishikawa’s Why Don’t You Eat Me, My Dear Wolf? is a BL fantasy manga series that was first serialized in RuTile magazine from May 22, 2019 to March 21, 2020. One tankoubon collecting seven chapters have been published in total. 

Seven Seas has also licensed the I’m in Love with the Villainess light novel spinoff series She’s so Cheeky for a Commoner!. The spinoff is a retelling of the original light novels from the perspective of villainess Claire François. 

She’s so Cheeky for a Commoner! was first published under the GL Bunko imprint on February 28, 2022 after originating as a web novel on Shousetsuka ni Narou. It is written by Inori and illustrated by Hanagata. One physical volume has been released as of July 15, 2022. 

Tohru Himuka’s The Eccentric Doctor of the Moon Flower Kingdom was first serialized in Asuka magazine on January 24, 2018. The historical shoujo fantasy series has released eight tankoubon volumes in total so far, collecting around 41 chapters. 

The manga adaptation of The Villainess and the Demon Knight light novel series will also be released for the first time in English. The manga was first serialized in Ichijinsha’s Zero-Sum Online magazine on July 16, 2021. Nekota is writing the story while Seikari is providing the artwork, based off of Asahiko’s original light novel illustrations. 

Classroom of the Elite: Horikita is a manga series written by Shougo Kinugasa and illustrated by Sakagaki. The series is a spinoff from the original Classroom of the Elite light novels and is a what-if story taking place in a parallel universe that focuses on the relationship between Kiyotaka Ayanokouji and Suzune Horikita. 

The manga was first serialized in Comic Alive magazine from June 27, 2017 to May 26, 2018. Two tankoubon volumes collecting 12 total chapters have been published. Seven Seas also releases the original light novels and its sequel in English for North America. 

Seven Seas has also announced the license of To Every You I’ve Loved Before and To Me, The One Who Loved You from writer Yomoji Otono and illustrator shimano. The two light novels were first published by Hayakawa Publishing on June 23, 2016. 

The novels are also inspiring two anime film adaptations that will premiere on October 7, 2022. Bakken Record is handling the animation production for To Every You I’ve Loved Before while TMS Entertainment is in charge of production for To Me, The One Who Loved You

A collector’s edition of Wataru Yoshizumi’s shoujo manga series Marmalade Boy will also be released. It was first serialized in Shueisha’s Ribon magazine from May 1992 to October 1996. Eight tankoubon volumes have been published in total. 

The manga has also inspired a long-running 1994 television anime series, anime film, light novel, and a 2018 live-action film adaptation. 

Yumi Tamura’s Do Not Say Mystery manga series will receive an omnibus publication for the first time in English. The josei mystery manga is currently serialized in Shogakukan’s Monthly Flowers magazine, beginning from November 28, 2017. 11 tankoubon volumes have been released in total as of July 15, 2022. 

Do Not Say Mystery has also inspired a live-action Japanese drama that aired from January 10, 2022 to March 28, 2022. 

Source: Seven Seas Entertainment

William Moo is a freelance writer who has previously written for OTAQUEST and MANGA.TOKYO. He enjoys watching lots of anime every season and reading from time to time. You can follow him on Twitter @thewriterSITB.
Leave a Comment!


Leave a Reply