First Two Sound! Euphonium Anime Films Gets Digital Release in North America

ELEVEN ARTS announced that it will distribute the first two Sound! Euphonium anime film trilogy, Sound! Euphonium~ Welcome to the Kitauji High School Concert Band! and Sound! Euphonium~ May the Melody Reach You!, on digital platforms beginning December 1, 2020. 

The films will be available on iTunes, Amazon, Google Play, Vudu, Playstation, Xbox, Fandango, and Hoopla in the United States, and iTunes, Google Play, and Playstation in Canada. 

The anime adaptation is based on the light novel written by Ayano Takeda. Kyoto Animation is in charge of the animation production. The first film’s staff inclludes Tatsuya Ishihara as the director, Jukki Hanada as the screenplay writer, Shoko Ikeda as the character designer, Naoka Yamada as the series director, and Akito Matsuda as the music composer. Taichi Ogawa directed the second film with Tatsuya Ishihara as the executive director. 

ELEVEN ARTS describes the films as:

“I’m so mad, I could die.”
Kumiko Oumae could never forget the angry tears of Reina Kosaka who uttered those words at the concert band competition in her third year of middle school. Now in high school, Kumiko is invited by Hazuki Katou and Sapphire Kawashima to join the concert band, but their performances are sorely lacking…Everything changes when a new music teacher, Noboru Taki, takes over. At first, the band members resist his disciplined approach, but gradually gain confidence as their playing improves. Kumiko also feels herself growing closer to Reina. Taki holds an audition to select the members to perform in the Sunrise Festival Competition… Overcoming many obstacles, the concert band advances to the Kyoto regional competition.

Source: press release

Leave a Comment!

Leave a Reply